Call for Nominations: Lise Manchester Award

This award commemorates the late Dr Lise Manchester’s abiding interest in making use of statistical methods to provide insights into matters of relevance to society at large.

        The award recognizes excellence in state-of-the-art statistical work which considers problems of public interest and which is potentially useful for formation of Canadian public policy. 

Any relevant statistical contribution occurring during the years 2016 and 2017 can be nominated for the 2018 award. Nominations from governmental and non-governmental organizations are encouraged. Each nomination must be supported by a member of the SSC. The winner or winners will receive a personal certificate; they will also share $1,000 in cash prize. 

Previous winners of this award are Ivan Fellegi, Stephen Fienberg, Raymond F. Currie, Geoffrey Fong, David Hammond and Mary Thompson jointly, and Agnes Herzberg.

Nominations must be received on or before February 15, 2018 by the Chair of the Lise Manchester Award Committee:

James Hanley

Dept. of Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health

1020 Pine Ave. West

Montreal, Quebec

H3A 1A2

Telephone: (514) 398-6270

Thursday, August 24, 2017

Liaison Newsletter: