SSC Webinar on Teaching Statistics Online

The Statistical Education Section of the SSC is happy to host a webinar on Teaching Statistics Online. 

Date: Friday, June 26, 2020.

 

Venue: Zoom meeting; details will be emailed to registered participants prior to the event.

 

Registration: Please register here by Thursday, June 25.

 

Program: The webinar will consist of three presentations, followed by a round-table discussion

  1. Charting a New Course: Teaching Statistics in a Virtual World
    Speaker: Bethany White, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, University of Toronto
    Abstract: Covid-19 has completely disrupted our teaching and learning and thrown us all into an unfamiliar world of online education. Teaching online requires a different approach than teaching in-person (Kebritchi et al., 2017) and places new demands on instructors (Cross & Polk, 2018). So, how should we be preparing for our online Statistics courses in the Fall? Where do we start? In this talk, I will share my experiences developing and teaching large online introductory Statistics courses, and draw upon Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (e.g., Mills & Raju, 2011 and Boettcher & Conrad, 2010), and my experience supporting faculty through this, to suggest concrete ways we can design our courses to support our students’ learning in an online environment, while trying to keep our workloads under control.
    Resources:
    Cross, T, and Polk, L (2018) “Burn Bright, Not Out: Tips for Managing Online Teaching” Journal of Educators Online, 15(3). Available at https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1199109.pdf    
    Boettcher, JV and Conrad, RM (2010) The Online Teaching Survival Guide: Simple and Practical Pedagogical Tips. Jossey-Bass. San Francisco, CA - Chapter 3 “Ten Best Practices for Teaching Online” reprinted here: https://tomprof.stanford.edu/posting/1091    
    Kebritchi, M, Lipschuetz, A and Santiague, L (2017) “Issues and Challenges for Teaching Successful Online Courses in Higher Education: A Literature Review” Journal of Educational Technology Systems, 46(1), 4-29.
    Mills, JD, and Raju, D (2011) “Teaching Statistics Online: A decade’s review of the literature about what works”. Journal of Statistics Education, 19(2). Available at
    http://jse.amstat.org/v19n2/mills.pdf
          
  2. Incorporating Cloud Computing into a Statistics Course
    Speaker: Nathan Taback, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, University of Toronto
    Abstract: This talk will provide an overview of cloud-based statistical computing platforms that facilitate interaction and collaboration, with minimal requirements on students’ technical setup and knowledge.
    Resources: RStudio Cloud, Syzygy.ca, Google Colaboratory
     
  3. Using and Sharing Online Resources for Teaching Statistics
    Speaker: Bruce Dunham, Professor of Teaching, University of British Columbia
    Abstract: In moving to an online delivery mode for their courses, most instructors are aware there is a plethora of materials freely available online for teaching statistics. Yet deciding what resources to use and how presents challenges. The session will explore the issues around locating and evaluating online resources and how one might use such materials in practice. Some new learning resources will be showcased, along with the online repository StatSpace.
    Resources: https://statspace.elearning.ubc.ca/
     
  4. Round-table discussion:
    Description: This will be an open discussion for participants to share practices, experiences, and ideas on online teaching. Topics will include promoting engagement, building learning communities, and assessing student learning in an online environment.

 

Schedule:

Time Zone Speaker 1 Break Speaker 2 Break Speaker 3 Break Round-table
PDT 10:00 - 10:40 10:00 - 10:40 10:50 - 11:30 11:30 - 11:40 11:40 - 12:20 12:20 - 12:30 12:30 - 13:30
MDT 11:00 - 11:40 11:40 - 11:50 11:50 - 12:30 12:30 - 12:40 12:40 - 13:20 13:20 - 13:30 13:30 - 14:30
CDT 12:00 - 12:40 12:40 - 12:50 12:50 - 13:30 13:30 - 13:40 13:40 - 14:20 14:20 - 14:30 14:30 - 15:30
EDT 13:00 - 13:40 13:40 - 13:50 13:50 - 14:30 14:30 - 14:40 14:40 - 15:20 15:20 - 15:30 15:30 - 16:30
ADT 14:00 - 14:40 14:40 - 14:50 14:50 - 15:30 15:30 - 15:40 15:40 - 16:20 16:20 - 16:30 16:30 - 17:30
NDT 14:30 - 15:10 15:10 - 15:20 15:20 - 16:00 16:00 - 16:10 16:10 - 16:50 16:50 - 17:00 17:00 - 18:00