SSC Award Winners in 2019

Thursday, May 2, 2019

The Statistical Society of Canada (SSC) is proud to announce the winners of three of its awards for this year. The winners of these awards will be giving talks at the SSC Annual Meeting which will take place May 26 to 29 at the University of Calgary in Calgary. The remaining SSC awards will be announced in the opening session of the Annual Meeting on the morning of May 27.


The CRM-SSC Prize in Statistics is awarded annually by the Centre de recherches mathématiques (Montreal) and the SSC, to recognize a statistical scientist's professional accomplishments in research during the first fifteen years after earning a doctorate. This year's winner is Johanna Nešlehová, McGill University.

The Pierre Robillard Award is awarded annually by the SSC to recognize the best Ph.D. thesis in probability or statistics defended at a Canadian university during the previous year. This year's winner is Peijun Sang, Simon Fraser University (advisor: Jiguo Cao) for his thesis, entitled "New Methods and Models in Functional Data Analysis".

The Canadian Journal of Statistics Award is awarded annually by the SSC to the author(s) of an article published in the previous year in the journal, in recognition of the outstanding quality of the paper's methodological innovation and presentation. This year's winners are Reihaneh Entezari (Bosch Center for Artificial Intelligence), Radu Craiu (University of Toronto) and Jeffrey Rosenthal (University of Toronto) for their paper "Likelihood inflating sampling algorithm", which appeared in volume 46, number 1, 2018.