DATA SCIENCE BOOT CAMP

University of Saskatchewan
Monday, June 10, 2019 to Friday, June 21, 2019

The University of Saskatchewan will hold its inaugural Data Science Bootcamp from June 10 -21, 2019.
 

Registration is now open.


This Bootcamp is intended for graduate and senior undergraduate students; a limited number of non-students will also be accepted to participate.


Description
Data science is an interdisciplinary field that combines perspectives from mathematics, statistics and computer science. The focus is to extract and communicate meaningful information from complex data using techniques that fall under the umbrella of these three disciplines. The scope of the field is expanding, as learning from data is common practice in all disciplines. With the increasing availability of data with wide ranging characteristics, there is now a high demand for data scientists.  The summer school will expose participants to some core areas of data science, including real data analysis and hands-on training in software. After successful completion of the program, a participant is expected to have a working knowledge of data science, including basic concepts and ideas, problem solving skills, computer programming, and in general, tools for  extracting and communicating meaningful information from complex data.


Location
University of Saskatchewan


Topics
Introduction to Machine Learning
Statistical Methods for High-throughput Data
Data Visualization
Data Science Case Studies
Prerequisites
With a focus on graduate-level students with a research interest in data science, it is recommended students have some familiarity with basic concepts from linear algebra, calculus, probability and hypothesis testing, and some experience with computer programming and statistical software packages.


Organizers
Shahedul Khan, University of Saskatchewan, khan@math.usask.ca 
Longhai Li, University of Saskatchewan, longhai@math.usask.ca
Juxin Liu, University of Saskatchewan, liu@math.usask.ca
Annaliza McGillivray, University of Saskatchewan, mcgillivray@math.usask.ca
Cindy Feng, University of Saskatchewan, cindy.feng@usask.ca
Nathaniel Osgood, University of Saskatchewan, osgood@cs.usask.ca
Debajyoti Mondal, University of Saskatchewan, d.mondal@usask.ca
Lisa Lix, University of Manitoba, Lisa.Lix@umanitoba.ca
Andrei Volodin, University of Regina, Andrei.Volodin@uregina.ca


Contact
data-science@math.usask.ca