About the Probability Section


The Probability Section was created at the 2005 October SSC Board meeting with the support of approximately 20 founding members; membership is now around 100. 


The overall objective of the section is to focus on the interests of members working in probability and its applications to mathematics, biology, finance and many other areas. The section will therefore organize invited and contributed paper sessions at the SSC Annual Meetings as well as appropriate short courses and workshops. The section also aims to promote the greater interaction of researchers in probability theory from the SSC, the CMS, Bernoulli Society and IMS.

2017-2018 Executive

 President (2017-18): Richard Lockhart (Simon Fraser University)

 Past President (2017-18): Neal Madras (York University)

 President-Elect (2017-18): René Ferland (Université du Québec à Montréal) 

 Treasurer (2017-20): Gennady Shaikhet (Carleton University) 

 Secretary (2016-18): Sévérien Nkurunziza (University of Windsor)


Past Presidents

 2015-16 Gail Ivanoff

 2014-15 Reg Kulperger

  2013-14  Mike Kouritzin

2012-13  Barbara Szyszkowicz

  2011-12  Hao Yu
  2010-11  Yiqiang Zhao
2009-10  Murray Burke
  2008-09  Bruno Remillard
  2007-08  Edit Gombay
Andre Dabrowski / Edit Gombay (acting)