About the Business and Industrial Statistics Section (BISS)

The Business and Industrial Statistics Section was created at the 2000 annual meeting of the SSC, it has about 120 members. The overall objective of the section is to focus on the interests of members working in business and industrial areas. The section will therefore organize invited and contributed paper sessions at the SSC Annual Meetings as well as pre-conference short courses and workshops. The section also aims to promote the involvement of academic statisticians and students in the solution of practical problems in business and industry. The Section sponsors the Isobel Loutit Invited Address. 

By becoming a member of the section, you help to promote business and industrial statistics within the SSC, which leads to more business and industrial oriented talks, workshops and other events. To join BISS, join the SSC and check the Business and Industrial Section box on the registration form.

2021-2022 Executive

President (2021-2022): Jean-Francois Plante (HEC Montréal), jfplante@hec.ca

Past-President (2021-22): Sanjeena Dang (Binghamton University), sdang@binghamton.edu 

President-Elect (2021-22): Reza Ramezan (University of Waterloo), rramezan@uwaterloo.ca

Secretary (2019-22): Kathryn Mills (Canada Revenue Agency), kathrynmillsdanis@gmail.com

Treasurer (2021-2024): Brian Franczak (MacEwan Univeristy), franczakb@macewan.ca

Past Officers:

President 2020 Sanjeena Dang
President 2019 Ryan Brown
President 2018 Chunfang Devon Lin
President 2017 Shirley Mills
President 2016 François Bellavance
President 2015 Hugh Chipman
President 2014 Paul McNicholas
President 2013 Tom Loughin
President 2012 Mu Zhu
President 2011 Boxin Tang
President 2010 William J. Welch
President 2009 Smiley Cheng
President 2008 Smiley Cheng
President 2007 Román Viveros-Aguilera
President 2006 Gemai Chen
President 2005 François Pageau
President 2004 Stefan Steiner
President 2003 Fernando Camacho
President 2002 John Brewster
President 2001 Bovas Abraham
President 2000 Bovas Abraham

Secretary 2016-2019 Sanjeena Dang
Secretary 2013-2016 Jason Loeppky
Secretary 2010-2012 Mark Reesor
Secretary 2004-2009 Shirley Mills
Secretary 2000-2003 Román Viveros-Aguilera

Treasurer 2018-2021 Alexander de Leon
Treasurer 2015-2018 Melody Ghahramani
Treasurer 2012-2014 Pritam Ranjan
Treasurer 2009-2011 Marc Fredette
Treasurer 2003-2008 Thierry Duchesne
Treasurer 2000-2002 Julie Zhou